The Twelfth Day of Christmas

           Christmas

On the Twelfth day of Christmas my true love sent to me:

Twelve hatches hatching12Hatches

Eleven rainbows rising11Rainbow

Ten trout a-leaping10Leap

Nine mayflies dancing9dancing

Eight Spinners falling8Fall

Seven nymphs a-swimming7Nymph

Six caddis laying6Caddis

Five dimpling rings5Rings

Four black bass4Bass

Three large fish3LargeFish

Two careful casts2CarefulCasts

And a Brown Trout on a dry fly.1BT

I wonder where do traditions come from? I mean we all have our own idea of what Christmas means, maybe it is sitting around the tree, or heading to the pub wrapped up in all the clothing received as presents. Perhaps, as was the case in my youth it is ginger marmalade for breakfast, or midnight mass. Maybe it is Christmas Eve which is celebrated, but mostly it involves too much to eat, too much to drink and hopefully, at least nominally good will to your fellow man and loved ones.

Now it has been the case more than once that I have gone fishing on Christmas day, of course around these parts the weather is warm and the fishing season in full swing , so that all helps. Plus few people venture out so the world is one’s oyster, at least in piscatorial terms.

Many years back three friends ventured up a stream with party hats, champagne and even a roasted turkey in our back packs and I still recall my friend Gordon rather incongruously stalking a trout in a clear run whilst wearing purple and yellow paper headgear. Perhaps where this all started but it isn’t unusual for me to go fishing on Christmas day. My best friends celebrate on Christmas Eve and so long as I don’t over indulge I can generally rip myself from the bed early enough to get on the water before things get too hot.

This year I was up at reasonable hour, I had a particular brown trout in my mind and I figured that he wouldn’t be expecting me what with it being a holiday and all. They are darned smart these fish you see. 🙂  As things turned out he wasn’t at home when I got to his lie under the bushes but it mattered not, I found another one and a good few rainbows as well and enjoyed a super morning in quiet solitary contemplation, casting at a few rising fish, taking a couple of more than respectable trout and returned home early enough to have another go at polishing off the left-over trifle. What more could one ask for?

The day is after all a religious holiday and fly fishing is my religion, where better to spend it that on a river?

I hope that you all had a wonderful day, that you got the presents that you asked for, as indeed did I, and that you felt joy, a warmth of spirit and a genuine appreciation and a blessing for the things and people you love, as I indeed felt blessed out there in the water, doing what I love most. MERRY CHRISTMAS 🙂

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Twelfth Day of Christmas”

  1. Miss P Says:

    Reblogged this on A FRESH START.

  2. flyfishbrat Says:

    Where is the absolutely “LOVE” button. This is priceless. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

